Relationship problems? It’s all about our genes…

The latest Swedish research at the world renowed Karolinska Institute shows that relationship problems might be caused by the ”allel 334” gene. Observe that research shows that only men who carry this gene can be determined by it; for women the gene doesn’t make any difference!

This really confirms my thesis that we men are too easily influenced; we are too receptive, to sensitive and too vulnerable for situations, decisions and temptations which causes are found outside ourselves: “we didn’t want this, we are only victims!”

After the different medical break-troughs’ during the last couple of years where we have received indications (proof?) that depressions, alcoholism, aggression, eating disorders, greed and other issues we deal with can be explained by the genes which we carry, we finally found this gene explaining why so many relationships suffer. Add these genes to the ones which are found that have messed up our sexuality and made us without a defined sexual identity (we can choose what we want to be), and we have laid a strong foundation to nullify our own responsibility for the choices we make. (Our genes forced us!)

The Bible speaks about the consequences of sin – no one is without it. No one is righteous. I truly believe that there can be distortions and genes which seem to determine our way of living, thinking, acting and feeling. BUT, I believe that these distortions and vulnerable parts of our make-up have invaded humanity as a direct result of our disobedience to our Creator. Personally I can relate to many weaknesses, inclinations in my “nature” and vulnerable areas within my life and character… actually I am full of #####! But, (here we have the second “but”), the Good News is that we don’t have to be victims of our upbringing, our traumas, our vulnerable inclinations; Jesus Christ has come to help you and me to have a new future where even our weaknesses, our vulnerable areas in our personality and make-up can be changed and transformed as we allow Jesus to touch them and redeem them!

I am most probably the carrier of a number of genes which aren’t too good for me nor anyone in my surrounding, my hope and prayer is that I in humility will remain close enough to Jesus to allow Him to touch me even in potentially distorted areas!

That’s the Way I see it!

John


9 responses to “Relationship problems? It’s all about our genes…

  1. “When God wills to punish a people or a kingdom, he takes away from it the good and godly teachers and preachers, and bereaves it of wise, godly, and honest rulers and counsellors, and of brave, upright, and experienced soldiers, and of good men.”

  2. I tend to take these kind of research “discoveries” with a huge grain of salt. Often they are too reductionistic in which they reduce all human behaviour to the genetic set-up. Which you point out – some christians says “the devil made me do it”, secular atheist says “my genes made me do it”.
    What is left out from the scientific discussion is that these theories about genetic causes to behaviours are by and large self-refuting. If scientists says that all human behaviour are due to the genetic setup, then that very claim is due to the scientists own genetic setup. There is no truth-value in the claim.

  3. We don’t even have to be victims of our genes. That is great news, since so many of our weaknesses seems to be there nowadays.

  4. Bob van den Eijkhof

    True John… I got a lot of weird genes myself, and a lot of good looking jeans, but I cant blame the jeans for my actions…. ! I used to blame it all on my dutch nationality but I guess that wont stand in court either. Nä maybee it all is my fault, In the future I wont blame it on the genes or the jeans, but on…khakis… i hate khakis !!

  5. Actually it’s not the Allel 334 Gene responsible for the relational commitment problems of so many men. It is in many cases the LEVI 501 Jean which these guys cannot seem to keep buttoned … (comment stolen from my wife, who is a comic genius!)

  6. And some other guys’ jeans force them to walk like wounded geese, which could also affect their relationships, while at least preventing them from running away from the problem, or anywhere else…

  7. I Just love these last couple of comments… Thanks guys and “Stewart’s wife” for the great buttoned inisight!
    john

  8. Thanks for this article! It’s wonderful to see how Christians are impacting the world through the internet. For a great blog that’s assisting Christians to navigate the often bewildering territory of love and relationships in an increasingly secular world, check out http://www.christiancupid.com/blog

  9. To a certain extend I do agree to Jacob. I did research on chimp behaviour once upon a time during some years. It became very clear to me that the genotype just gives a basic cadre to phenotypic traits including behaviour – there are a lot of other factors involved, factors that are essentially environmental. So a person can never blame his genes for his behaviour (or her). We have our responsibility.

    The genetic research is valuable, it gives us an understanding of ourselves and the way we became what we are. But some researchers and definitively the media seem to think that genes can explain everything. They have not understood the beautiful complexity of life. It is the way Dawkins looks at the world. I prefer Conway Morris way, a researcher who is in the same type of business but oh so different.

Leave a Reply

